Crunch Time

14 Days. 14 days is all that separates me from the mountains, from the Philippines, and a new chapter in my life. For the past 10 days I’ve been in Canada, at the Canadian Churches’ Forum for Global Ministries, training for the inevitable culture shock that I will experience; Which, I must admit, does seem a bit daunting at times. There will be a new language to learn, food to taste, social norms to adhere to, and some of the hardest work that I have ever faced. It will undoubtedly test my faith and my resolve, and at times it is unnerving; but I have faith. I have faith in God, I have faith in the people behind me, I have faith in my Brothers and Sisters going to different placements, and I have an unquenchable fire that drives and strengthens me.

At times I may waver-maybe even stumble-but I am not scared. I have the opportunity of having men such as Abraham, Jacob, Isaiah and Moses to use as guides; men who answered, “Here am I, Lord, send me”, with everything to lose-but the greatest of all gifts to gain. So, I steel my nerves, open my heart, and allow a sense of comfort to wash over me, for I know that I have these men walking beside me and the Lord watching from above.

One thought on “Crunch Time

  1. Good luck, my friend! It was great spending some time together this afternoon. Remember, we want a FaceTime tour once you get settled.

    Peace Brother

Leave a Reply

